Monday, October 4, 2010

The 12 Disciples of Jesus

Here are the 12 disciples of Jesus:

  1. Andrew - Originally a disciple of John the Baptist. He led his brother Simon to Christ)
  2. Simon Peter (Andrew’s brother) - Rock of the church. A fisherman, Denied Jesus after the crucifixion.)
  3. James (son of Zebedee) - Also a fisherman. A strong person who insisted that Christ’s followers “walk the talk.”
  4. John (son of Zebedee) - Also a fisherman. A strong person who cared for Jesus’ mother and stressed grace.
  5. Phillip - Andrew’s close friend, also a fisherman. He led Barttholomew to Christ.
  6. Bartholomew (Nathanael) - Questioning at first, but accepted Jesus of Nazareth. Loyal.
  7. Matthew (Levi)- Once a despised tax collector, he changed his profession and followed Jesus. Wrote the Gospel of Matthew.
  8. Thomas - Doubted the resurrection. Was willing to risk his own life for Jesus.
  9. James (Alpheus’ son) - Mentioned in Gospel accounts.
  10. Thaddeus (James’ son) - A real follower and preacher of Christ.
  11. Simon - Known as a zealot or patriot. He saw the vision.
  12. Judas Iscariot - Ultimate betrayer of Jesus, who kept the money for the group.

No comments:

Post a Comment